12-22-2007 14:25

The European Union has expanded its passport-free zone, to include nine mostly eastern European countries. The enlargement, under the so-called "Schengen Treaty Zone" means much more convenience for travellers making their way around 24 countries.

The nine new members joined the EU in 2004, and many boast uniquely beautiful scenery and cultural sites. These will now be open to Chinese tourists, who can apply for and receive Schengen visas at embassies in any one of the 24 countries.

The lifting of borders between Europe's East and West is certainly good news for travel agencies catering to Chinese tourists eager to look West, they now have greater freedom to come up with new packages covering different destinations.


Editor:Liu Fang