News > China > Politics   

Ten Chinese nurses awarded Florence Nightingale medals
   CCTV.COM   2003-08-06 09:08:25   
    Ten Chinese nurses who made great contributions to China's medical cause were awarded Florence Nightingale medals in Beijing Tuesday by Chinese President Hu Jintao at a ceremony of the 39th Florence Nightingale Medal.

    The nurses included Ye Xin, awarded posthumously after sacrificing her life in the fight against SARS, as well as Zhong Huasun, Li Shujun, Jiang Yunyan, Su Yaxiang, Basang Dundrub, ZhangJinyuan, Mei Yuwen, Li Qi and Chen Dong.

    Vice-Premier Wu Yi delivered a speech at the ceremony, expressing sincere appreciation to the country's medical workers, especially those who once worked on the front-line of fighting against severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS).

    Florence Nightingale, a military nurse from the United Kingdom, was the pioneer of modern nursing. The Nightingale Award, the top honor in international nursing, was established at the Ninth International Red Cross Conference in Washington in 1912 and is presented every two years.

    The Chinese Red Cross Society began to recommend candidates for the award in 1983 and since that time 38 Chinese nurses have been recognized with it.

Editor: Zhong

China Central Television,All Rights Reserved